Read-Alikes

Read to the Rhythm!

 

Music Is
Lloyd Moss

Music is magic, music is for everyone, and music is for every occasion.

'Music Is' book cover

Mole Music
David McPhail

With patience and practice, Mole learns how to play the violin. Others enjoy his music, too.

'Mole Music' book cover

M is for Music
Kathleen Krull

Enjoy this eploration of the music of language. The ABCs and music tie together to create this symphonic book.

'M is for Music' book cover

Moses Goes to a Concert
Isaac Millman

Moses and his classmates are all deaf. His teacher takes them to a concert where they find a special surprise! This lovely book shows that music really is for everyone.

'Moses Goes to a Concert' book cover

Violet's Music
Angela Johnson

Violet has always loved music, ever since she was in the nursery shaking her rattle. She looks everywhere for other kids who like music as much as she does. Will she find them?

'Violet's Music' book cover

Jazz Baby
Lisa Wheeler

This whole family is grooving to the beat! Even baby has a good sense of rhythm with a clap-clap-clap!

'Jazz Baby' book cover

Farmer Joe & the Music Show
Tony Mitton

When the hens won't lay and the crops won't grow, Farmer Joe starts playing music. Everyone joins in! Soon the farm is thriving again.

'Farmer Joe & the Music Show' book cover

Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin
Lloyd Moss

How many musicians does it take to make an orchestra? Three is a trio, five is a quintet - learn to count in music terms with this charming book!

'Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin' book cover

The Orchestra
Alan Blackwood

Learn all about the history of orchestras, and how different music ensembles work together.

'The Orchestra' book cover

Henry Reed's Big Show
Keith Robertson

Henry Reed never meant for this to happen - but before he knows it, he's putting on a rock show for a rodeo!

'Henry Reed's Big Show' book cover

Guitar Notes
Mary Amato

Tripp and Lyla are forced to share the practice room at their high school so that they can practice guitar and cello. Soon they become friends.

'Guitar Notes' book cover

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Stephen Chbosky

Charlie shares the struggles of growing up and the excitement of discovering the world and his place in it. Sometimes the perfect song can make everything better.

'The Perks of Being a Wallflower' book cover

Eleanor & Park
Rainbow Rowell

First, they sit next to each other on the bus. They start sharing books and music on the bus - and then everywhere else possible. They begin to hang on to each other as they try to overcome their struggles.

'Eleanor & Park' book cover

Scott Pilgrim
Bryan Lee O'Malley

Scott is the bassist in a band. When he sees Ramona, it's love at first sight. But he'll have to fight off her seven evil exes to be with her. Will he succeed?

'Scott Pilgrim' book cover

Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist
Rachel Cohn

Nick and Norah meet by chance and end up going on an adventure all over New York looking for their favorite band, and looking for love.

'Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist' book cover