Read-Alikes

Classic Tales

 

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Maya Angelou

This memoir of a youth is filled with disappointment and tragedy, but leads to hard-won independence.

'I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings' book cover

Pride & Prejudice
Jane Austen

Fiercely independent Elizabeth engages in a battle of wits with stubborn Mr. Darcy in 19th century England. Will she ever find love?

'Pride & Prejudice' book cover

Wuthering Heights
Emily Bronte

Bronte tells the story of Heathcliff and Catherine, a pair of star-crossed lovers whose all-encompassing love is continually thwarted.

'Wuthering Heights' book cover

My Antonia
Willa Cather

Jim, an orphan, and Antonia, the daughter of Bohemian immigrants, meet on a train headed to Nebraska.

'My Antonia' book cover

Romeo & Juliet
Bruce Coville

Bruce Coville captures in prose the classic tale of star-crossed lovers with phrases such as, “the barest hint of moonlight dusted Verona's streets..."

'Romeo & Juliet' book cover

The Mill on the Floss
George Eliot

A girl fights repressive social norms in early 19th century England so that she may be "true to herself."

'The Mill on the Floss' book cover

Hiroshima
John Hersey

Classic story of the atomic bomb and its aftermath as told by six survivors.

'Hiroshima' book cover

Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty & the Beast
Robin McKinley

Beauty is not the most attractive of her sisters, but she takes pride in her competence which proves essential when her family must move to the country.

'Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty & the Beast' book cover

White Fang
Jack London

Set in the frozen north during Gold Rush days, White Fang tells the story of a young wolf and how his encounters with humans change him.

'White Fang' book cover

Gone with the Wind
Margaret Mitchell

You may have seen the movie, but the book is even better. Rhett and Scarlet take us from the rolling hills to the burning fields and cities of the American South during the War Between the States.

'Gone with the Wind' book cover

The Bell Jar
Sylvia Plath

A bright teen has a mental breakdown while serving as an intern in New York City.

'The Bell Jar' book cover

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
Jules Verne

An amazing adventure under the sea led by the deranged Captain Nemo.

'20,000 Leagues Under the Sea' book cover