Read-Alikes

Books the Guys are Talking About

 

The Chonicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites
Heather Brewer

Eighth grade is tough for Vladimir. Bullies harass him, the principal is hounding him, and he struggles with bloodlust and elongated fangs. To top it all off, a vampire hunter is now stalking him!

'The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites' book cover

The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins

Drought, fire, famine and war have caused the collapse of the US. In the new country of Panem, each district must send two children to fight in a televised, "survival of the fittest" game. When Katniss takes her younger sister's place in the games, she must discover how far she will go to survive.

'The Hunger Games' book cover

The Dirt Eaters
Dennis Foon

Roan's peace-loving village thrived for seventy-five years in isolation. In less than one hour they were annihilated. Now Roan is torn between the desire for revenge and his peaceful upbringing.

'The Dirt Eaters' book cover

Pendragon: The Merchant of Death
D.J. MacHale

Meet Bobby Pendragon, good student, star basketball player, and time traveler. Magically transported journals keep his friends updated as he tries to free the gentle, enslaved Milago in a medieval world.

'Pendragon: The Merchant of Death' book cover

The Keys to the Kingdom: Mister Monday
Garth Nix

Arthur should be dead. After a severe asthma attack, Arthur dreams of a key shaped like a clock's minute hand. When he wakes holding the key, strange things begin to happen.

'The Keys to the Kingdom: Mister Monday' book cover

Soldier's Heart
Gary Paulsen

Based on a true story, Charley Goddard lies his way into the Union Army, believing war is a great adventure. He is right...until he sees the horrors of his first battle.

'Soldier's Heart' book cover

The Wednesday Wars
Gary Schmidt

It is 1967, Vietnam is on everyone’s mind, and Holling is in for a tough year. His teacher hates him, she must. Why else would she make him read Shakespeare outside of class? Can Holling stay out of trouble for the sake of the family business?

'The Wednesday Wars' book cover

Cirque du Freak
Darren Shan

When Darren Shan wins a ticket to a bizarre freak show, his life becomes entangled with a vampire spider-wrangler.

'Cirque du Freak' book cover

Crash
Jerry Spinelli

“Crash” Coogan has tormented Penn Ward since first grade. Now that they are in seventh grade, Penn is an even better target. His clothes are out of style and he joins the cheerleading squad. So why does the most gorgeous girl in school prefer Penn over Crash, the star football player?

'Crash' book cover