Read-Alikes

4th & 5th Grade Treasures

 

The Arkadians
Lloyd Alexander

As Lucian flees corrupt palace officials, he discovers his role in life. He tries to help a poet-turned-donkey regain his human form and gets caught up in a battle between the followers of the mother goddess and believers in the Olympian pantheon.

'The Arkadians' book cover

The Witches
Roald Dahl

A young orphan discovers witches do not always wear black clothes and pointy hats. Unfortunately, they do have the ability to turn young orphans into mice. Can his friend and a somewhat magical grandmother expose the witches before they exterminate him?

'The Witches' book cover

Wait Till Helen Comes
Mary Downing Hahn

Molly and Michael do not like their bratty step-sister, Heather, and they resent having to move, but why is Heather drawn to the creepy graveyard beside their new home?

'Wait Till Helen Comes' book cover

Farmer Boy
Laura Ingalls Wilder

While Laura Ingalls is growing up on the prairie, Almanzo Wilder is living on his family’s farm in New York State. The one thing he wants most in the world is a horse, but how can he prove to his father that he can handle the responsibility?

'Farmer Boy' book cover

Football Genius
Tim Green

Troy White is stuck playing second-string. He is athletic and can figure out what the opponent’s next move will be, but how can he show off his gift? He finds a star NFL linebacker to mentor him and learns "the truth is more important than the trouble it brings."

'Football Genius' book cover

Hatchet
Gary Paulsen

While flying to see his dad in the Canadian wilderness, Brian’s plane crashes. Alone with only his clothing, a windbreaker, and a hatchet, Brian must figure out how to survive while he hopes to be rescued.

'Hatchet' book cover

Island of the Blue Dolphins
Scott O'Dell

Karana is a twelve-year-old girl who finds herself isolated on a Pacific Island. The last of her tribe, she must figure out a way to find food and build weapons if she is to survive.

'Island of the Blue Dolphins' book cover

A Wrinkle in Time
Madeleine L'Engle

On a dark and stormy night, Meg Murray, her small brother, and her mother are enjoying a midnight snack when a mysterious stranger, Mrs. Whatsit, appears. She explains that she was blown off course, will be leaving shortly, and tesseracts (wrinkles in time) are real.

'A Wrinkle in Time' book cover

The Music of Dolphins
Karen Hesse

Mila, the lone survivor of a plane crash, is raised by dolphins and lives with them for years until the Coast Guard “rescues” her and turns her over to a scientist. Will she stay with humans or return to her beloved dolphins?

'The Music of Dolphins' book cover

Misty of Chincoteague
Marguerite Henry

The ponies on Assateague run free and wild until Pony Penning Day. Phantom is one of the most elusive ponies in the herd, but Paul and Maureen have their hearts set on her. Will their dream come true?

'Misty of Chincoteague' book cover

The Time Travelers
Linda Buckley-Archer

Gideon is a thief and a gentleman who is hiding from the evil Tar Man when two strange children fall from the sky. Peter and Kate have come from the 21st century and are desperate to return. (Previously published as Gideon, the Cutpurse.)

'The Time Travelers' book cover

Bud, Not Buddy
Michele Torrey

Ten-year-old Bud Caldwell is an orphan on the run from abusive foster homes and the Hoovervilles of the Great Depression. Bud decides to track down the man he believes is his father and gets into all sorts of trouble along the way.

'Bud, Not Buddy' book cover

Frindle
Andrew Clements

Nick Allen loves to devise ways to distract his teachers. His plan backfires, however, when he has to write an extra report about how new entries are added to the dictionary. He creates a new term and a war of words begins.

'Frindle' book cover

Chasing Vermeer
Blue Balliet

Petra and Calder are in the same class, but it takes a chance encounter on a field trip for them to discover they share a love of art, their teacher and blue M&Ms. When a thief steals a Vermeer painting, the pair decides to solve the mystery themselves.

'Chasing Vermeer' book cover

The Story Book of Science
Jean-Henri Fabre

Uncle Paul knows all about science and he shares this information with his niece and nephews by telling them stories about bees, ants, volcanoes, and a variety of other subjects.

'The Story Book of Science' book cover