Read-Alikes

2nd & 3rd Grade Selections

 

Chocolate Dreams: Poems
Arnold Adoff

Do you crave chocolate? This delightful book of poetry devoted to chocolate desserts will hit the spot.

'Chocolate Dreams' book cover

Frogs & the Ballet
Donald Elliott

Expressive frogs and humorous phrases bring the ballet to life. A delightful look at the techniques and terms used in ballet.

'Frogs & the Ballet' book cover

The World's Greatest Elephant
Ralph Helfer

Young Bram and his elephant, Modoc, are born on the same day in a small German town. This true story follows the adventures and eventual rise to circus stardom of the devoted friends.

'The World's Greatest Elephant' book cover

Frankenstein (Monster Chronicles)
Stephen Krensky

This Monster Chronicle explains the origin of Frankenstein’s monster and our continuing fascination with him. Read excerpts from Mary Shelly’s original tale and trivia about modern reworkings of this timeless classic.

'Frankenstein (Monster Chronicles)' book cover

Minnie & Moo: The Case of the Missing Jelly Donut
Denys Cazet

Minnie is convinced someone has stolen her jelly donut. Moo is determined to catch the thief. Can the two lovable, confused cows catch the culprit?

'Minnie & Moo: The Case of the Missing Jelly Donut' book cover

The Dog That Called the Pitch
Matt Christopher

Mike and his dog, Harry, communicate using ESP. Much to their surprise, the umpire at their game shares their ability. When the umpire breaks his glasses, can Harry help him call the game fairly?

'The Dog That Called the Pitch' book cover

Pajama Party
Amy Hest

When eight-year old Casey’s big sister celebrates with a pajama party, Casey is bored and feels left out. She decides to throw her own, more exciting party.

'Pajama Party' book cover

Horrible Harry in Room 2B
Suzy Kline

Harry is a mischievous second grader who may come up with some horrible ideas, but he is always a good friend.

'Horrible Harry in Room 2B' book cover

Beetle McGrady Eats Bugs
Megan McDonald

Beetle McGrady wants to explore like Marco Polo and Amelia Earhart. She is bold, she brave, she is daring, she is not so sure she really wants to eat a bug. Will she get another chance to explore the world of bugs?

'Beetle McGrady Eats Bugs' book cover

Amelia Bedelia
Peggy Parish

Amelia Bedelia is a very helpful maid. But as the Brown family finds out, she takes things quite literally, dressing the chickens in suits and drawing the curtains in a sketchbook.

'Amelia Bedelia' book cover

Skippyjon Jones
Judy Schachner

Skippyjon is a small cat with a big imagination. His ears are too big for his head; his head is too big for his body. Could he really be a Chihuahua after all?

'Skippyjon Jones' book cover

The Case of the Gasping Garbage
Michele Torrey

Drake Doyle and Nell Fossey use their knowledge of science to solve the mystery of a monster in a classmate’s trashcan, to free a truck stuck under a bridge, and to solve several other problems.

'The Case of the Gasping Garbage' book cover

Knights of the Kitchen Table
Jon Scieszka

In the first book of the Time Warp Trio series, Joe and his friends Fred and Sam, are transported to King Arthur’s Britain. Can they survive a knight, a giant, and a dragon and get home in one piece?

'Knights of the Kitchen Table' book cover

Sideways Stories From Wayside School
Louis Sachar

When you build a school from sideways blueprints, you get Wayside School. The school is thirty classrooms stacked on top of each other and is full of strange and funny events. Short stories focus on students such as Jason, who is stuck in his seat by a wad of gum and Bebe who draws quickly but without artistic merit.

'Sideways Stories From Wayside School' book cover

Judy Moody
Megan McDonald

It is the first day of third grade and Judy Moody is in a bad mood. She does not want summer to end, her little brother, Stink, thinks he knows everything and she has no cool t-shirt to wear. Not one to stay down for long, Judy comes up with inventive solutions to her problems.

'Judy Moody' book cover