Read-Alikes

Get into Graphic Novels

 

Zita the Spacegirl
Ben Hatke

Fun for all ages! Zita is chock full of creative creatures, humor, and adventure.

'Zita the Spacegirl' book cover

The Adventures of Tintin
Herge

These tongue-in-cheek adventures have kept several generations flipping through their pages.

'The Adventures of Tintin' book cover

A Wrinkle in Time
Hope Larson

A beautifully done graphic novel adaptation of the masterpiece by Madeline L'engle.

'A Wrinkle in Time' book cover

Ariol
Emmanuel Guibert

A series about an ordinary tween donkey. There's a reason why this is so well loved in France.

'Ariol' book cover

Calvin & Hobbes
Bill Watterson

These timeless comics are beloved by all ages. Smart, witty, and a perfect representation of childhood.

'Calvin & Hobbes' book cover

Hilda & the Troll
Luke Pearson

This is a lovely folksy tale about a brave young girl and her adventures.

'Hilda & the Troll' book cover

Simon's Cat
Simon Tofield

With little to no words, these laugh-out-loud comics create scenarios surrounding a silly old cat.

'Simon's Cat' book cover

Babymouse
Jennifer L. Holm

Beloved by many, this series is full of humor and relatable stories. Join Babymouse as she navigates school, friends, and life.

'Babymouse' book cover

Amulet
Kazu Kibuishi

This is a thrilling adventure series full of great characters and gorgeous artwork.

'Amulet' book cover

American Born Chinese
Gene Luen Yang

A strange and wonderful story that goes back and forth between a boy embarrassed by his cousin, and The Monkey King.

'American Born Chinese' book cover

Anya's Ghost
Vera Brosgol

A curious tale of an ordinary girl who finds and befriends a ghost. But is the ghost all she claims to be?

'Anya's Ghost' book cover

Scott Pilgrim
Bryan Lee O'Malley

Scott is the bassist in a band. When he sees Ramona, it's love at first sight. But he'll have to fight off her seven evil exes to be with her. Will he succeed?

'Scott Pilgrim' book cover

Fullmetal Alchemist
Hiromu Arakawa

This is the story of two brothers - whose bodies have both been changed by alchemy - who in search of the Philosopher's Stone.

'Fullmetal Alchemist' book cover