Read-Alikes

Preschool Picks

 

Fix-It Duck
Jez Alborough

Pig’s truck isn’t working, but never fear, Duck will fix it…or at least he will try. Somehow things never seem to work out quite the way Duck thinks they will.

'Fix-It Duck' book cover

My Cat, the Silliest Cat in the World
Gilles Bachelet

This strange cat with a trunk is full of mischief and is definitely the silliest cat in the world. Be sure to follow this one with When the Silliest Cat Was Small.

'My Cat, the Silliest Cat in the World' book cover

Mucky Pup
Ken Brown

The mucky pup loves to play with the trash, jump in the coal and rip up the cushions. When he gets sent outside, nobody wants to play. What’s a pup to do?

'Mucky Pup' book cover

Pumpkin Soup
Helen Cooper

Cat, Squirrel and Duck have their routine down pat. Each has his own job when they make soup, until one day when there is a falling out and they discover the value of teamwork.

'Pumpkin Soup' book cover

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type
Doreen Cronin

It’s bad enough that Farmer Brown’s cows love to type. He hears them all day long, clicking and clacking, but his real trouble begins when they start leaving him notes.

'Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type' book cover

Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me
Eric Carle

Monica wants to play with the moon and asks her dad to get it for her. Colorful fold-out pages introduce the cycles of the moon.

'Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me' book cover

My Lucky Day
Keiko Kasza

When hungry Fox opens his door to see a little pig standing there, he realizes it must be his lucky day. But he may have to work harder for his dinner than he expects.

'My Lucky Day' book cover

Flora's Surprise
Debi Gliori

Flora and her family enjoy tending their garden. They plant lettuce, flowers and alfalfa. Flora plants a brick which she is sure will grow into a house.

'Flora's Surprise' book cover

Pig & Crow
Kay Chorao

Crafty Crow trades a series of items for Pig’s baked goods. In the process, Pig learns about patience and nurturing and finds a new friend.

'Pig & Crow' book cover

Zee is Not Scared
Michel Gay

Zee’s parents refuse to let him watch a scary movie. When they send him to bed, he grabs a sheet and takes matters into his own hands.

'Zee is Not Scared' book cover

Sally Gets a Job
Stephen Huneck

Everyone in Sally’s family has a job, so she wants one, too. She just has to narrow down her many choices.

'Sally Gets a Job' book cover

Captain Bob Sets Sail
Roni Schotter

When a mom puts her son in the tub, he becomes Captain Bob, sailing the Soapy Seas.

'Captain Bob Sets Sail' book cover

Not a Box
Antoinette Portis

Things may not always be what they seem. That box may be a rocket or a house or whatever Rabbit imagines.

'Not a Box' book cover

Farmer Brown Goes Round & Round
Teri Sloat

When a whirlwind blows through, Farmer Brown and his animals get tossed around and confused. Will life on the farm ever return to normal?

'Farmer Brown Goes Round & Round' book cover

Bear Snores On
Karma Wilson

First a mouse and then an assortment of woodland creatures discover bear’s cave makes a nice shelter from winter weather.

'Bear Snores On' book cover

Falling for Rapunzel
Leah Wilcox

Poor Rapunzel’s tower is so tall, she can’t hear what her prince is telling her. When he asks her to throw down her silky tresses, she thinks he said, “your silky dresses.” Can her maid set things right?

'Falling for Rapunzel' book cover

A Mother for Choco
Keiko Kasza

Choco is searching for a loving parent. Believing physical similarity is needed to make a family, he asks a series of animals if they might be his mother. Choco discovers that a mom is someone who loves unconditionally.

'A Mother for Choco' book cover

About Birds: A Guide for Children
Cathryn Sill

A first guide to birds, written for the youngest bird watchers. Each page contains a fact about birds as well as the name of the bird shown in the watercolor illustrations. More detailed facts can be found in the Afterword.

'About Birds: A Guide for Children' book cover

Bring on the Birds
Susan Stockdale

Simple text and illustrations show a variety of birds and their habitats. An additional information section has enough details to answer a curious toddler’s questions.

'Bring on the Birds' book cover