Read-Alikes

Toddler Tales

 

Whose Baby Am I?
John Butler

Explore the world of cubs, chicks and pups as you turn the pages and see each baby with its mama.

'Whose Baby Am I?' book cover

The Little Dump Truck
Margery Cuyler

Hard Hat Pete and his little dump truck are ready for action as they haul rocks and carry loads to the landfill.

'The Little Dump Truck' book cover

Roly Poly Pangolin
Anna Dewdney

When Roly Poly is confronted with new things like bugs for dinner or playing with strange animals, he curls into a ball. One day, a ball peeks back at him and he makes an important discovery.

'Roly Poly Pangolin' book cover

Where's Pup?
Dayle Ann Dodds

Where’s Pup? He’s running around the circus, but who knows where he might be? Is he with Jo feeding Mo or helping Claire catch Pierre? Follow this rhyming trail to find him.

'Where's Pup?' book cover

Ting-a-ling
Siobhan Dodds

Tilly is playing with her toy telephone, but who could she be talking to? Teddy, Rabbit and Puppy Dog are all busy playing. See if you can figure it out.

'Ting-a-ling' book cover

The Everything Book
Denise Fleming

Pots, pans, crocodile eggs and ladybugs, you can find almost everything in here. Have fun with numbers, colors, body parts, and seasons in this brightly colored book for toddlers.

'The Everything Book' book cover

Barnyard Banter
Denise Fleming

With the roosters crowing, the pigeons cooing, the mice squeaking and the hens clucking, it’s another average day in the barnyard.

'Barnyard Banter' book cover

Barnyard Song
Rhonda Gowler Greene

The barnyard choir sounds wonderful until an unexpected sneeze chimes in. Will the barnyard sounds ever be normal again?

'Barnyard Song' book cover

Tuck Me In!
Dean Hacohen

Tuck in a hedgehog, an alligator, a moose and more as you turn the bright, half-page “blankets.”

'Tuck Me In!' book cover

Cat Dreams
Ursula K. Le Guin

Wander into a cat’s cozy dreamland full of raining mice, fountains of cream, and catnip trees.

'Cat Dreams' book cover

A Book of Sleep
Il Sung Na

A watchful owl observes various animals as they rest throughout the night.

'A Book of Sleep' book cover

Bear Flies High
Michael Rosen

When Bear wishes he could fly, four children spend the day at an amusement park showing him how he can do just that.

'Bear Flies High' book cover

Cookie's Week
Cindy Ward

Falling in the toilet, getting stuck in drawers, Cookie is having a very busy week.

'Cookie's Week' book cover

How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight?
Jane Yolen

See how well-behaved dinosaurs set a good example with their bedtime routines.

'How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight?' book cover

About Birds: A Guide for Children
Cathryn Sill

A first guide to birds, written for the youngest bird watchers. Each page contains a fact about birds as well as the name of the bird shown in the watercolor illustrations. More detailed facts can be found in the Afterword.

'About Birds: A Guide for Children' book cover

Bring on the Birds
Susan Stockdale

Simple text and illustrations show a variety of birds and their habitats. An additional information section has enough details to answer a curious toddler’s questions.

'Bring on the Birds' book cover

Tippy-Tippy-Tippy, Hide!
Candace Fleming

It’s man vs. rabbits when three bunnies knock on Mr. McGreely’s door. It’s cold out and they want to be warm, but Mr. McGreely won’t let them in.

'Tippy-Tippy-Tippy, Hide!' book cover

How About a Kiss for Me?
Todd Tarpley

A fearless baby puckers up to deliver kisses to a variety of animals throughout his day.

'How About a Kiss for Me?' book cover

I Can Help
David Costello

A poor little duck is lost and needs help. Fortunately, he is surrounded by monkeys, giraffes, elephants, and other friends who are willing to help as much as they are able.

'I Can Help' book cover