Read-Alikes

Graphic Novels

Graphic novels are the paradise of individuality, eccentricity, heresy, abnormality, hobbies and humors.

Devil Survivor, Volume 1
Satoru Matsuba

Demon Invasion. What should have been a simple day out with friends turns into a mysterious disaster when powerful demonic beasts appear. Kazuya and Atsuro were supposed to meet Naoya, their enigmatic friend, but he doesn't show up and instead sends another friend, Yuza, to meet them and give them specially modded gaming devices. It becomes apparent that Naoya has given them much more than they bargained for when demons spawn from these devices! These demons seem to be intent on killing humans, but could they actually be allies?! Kazuya and his friends must figure out what the devil is going on as the world around them inexplicably begins to fall apart!

'Devil Survivor, Volume 1' book cover

Trinity Seven: The Seven Magicians, Volume 1
Kenji Saito

Arata Kasuga is living an ordinary life with his cousin, Hijiri, when a mysterious happening called a "Breakdown Phenomenon" makes her vanish before his very eyes. Determined to eradicate the Breakdown Phenomenon and get Hijiri back, Arata enrolls at Royal Biblia Academy. It's a tough road ahead, but nothing's impossible when you've got seven beautiful girls - each a master of her own magical art - by your side! The romantic comedy and sometimes-serious wizard school story begins!

'Trinity Seven: The Seven Magicians, Volume 1' book cover

The Demon Prince of Momochi House, Volume 1
Aya Shouoto

On her sixteenth birthday, orphan Himari Momochi inherits her ancestral estate that she's never seen. Momochi House exists on the barier between the human and spiritual realms, and Himari is meant to act as guardian between the two worlds. But on the day she moves in, she find three handsome squatters already living in the house, and one seems to have already taken over her role!

'The Demon Prince of Momochi House, Volume 1' book cover

Batman, Volume 8: Superheavy
Scott Snyder

Batman is gone, but Gotham still needs a hero. Two months ago, the Dark Knight faced the Joker in an epic final confrontation in the caverns beneath Gotham City. By all accounts, neither Batman nor his adversary ever made it back to the surface. The city is in mourning, but crime continues. Gotham needs a new champion. A new Batman. And Jim Gordon has accepted the call. Giving up his job, his life and even his trademark mustache, Gordon has signed on with Powers International to become their new high-tech, government-endorsed Batman.

'Batman, Volume 8: Superheavy' book cover

The Flash, Volume 7: Savage World
Robert Venditti

Trapped in the Savage Speed Force! While his loved ones bear witness to a savage new "hero," the true Flash is left completely unaware of what is happening in Central City. Instead, this Barry Allen is fighting prehistoric creatures ridden by Paleo-Indians. Stuck in the Speed Force with other time-displaced beings, Barry's only hope of returning home is a man with intimate knowledge of his power, a man named Selkirk...a man with a secret!

'The Flash, Volume 7: Savage World' book cover

Green Lantern, Volume 6: The Life Equation
Robert Venditti

On a higher plane of existence, the incredible beings known as the New Gods have waged an eternal war against the cosmic tyrant called Darkseid. Now their quest to break the deadlock and defeat their nemesis has led them to the power rings of the Lanterns. They mean to sieze the rings, reforge the emotional spectrum, and unlock the Life Equation - a weapon capable of reshaping reality itself. And if the Green Lanterns must be sacrificed, so be it. Hal Jordan may be the commander of the Green Lantern Corps - our universe's first line of defense - but he is only human. What hope does a mortal have against an army of gods?

'Green Lantern, Volume 6: The Life Equation' book cover

The Tragical Comedy or Comical Tragedy of Mr. Punch
Neil Gaiman

A dark and frightening fully painted novella, Mr. Punch tells the tale of a young boy's loss of innocence results from a horrific confrontation with his past. Spending a summer at his grandfather's seaside arcade, a troubled adolescent harmlessly becomes involved with a mysterious Punch and Judy Man and a mermaid-portraying woman. But when the violent puppet show triggers buried memories of the boy's family, the lives of all become feverishly intertwined. With disturbing mysteries and half-truths uncontrollably unraveling, the young boy is forced to deal with his family's dark secrets of violence, betrayal, and guilt.

'The Tragical Comedy or Comical Tragedy of Mr. Punch' book cover

Batman, Volume 1: The Court of Owls
Scott Snyder

After a series of brutal murders rocks Gotham City, Batman begins to realize that perhaps thes crimes go far deeper than appearances suggest. As the Caped Crusader begins to unravel this deadly mystery, he discovers a conspiracy going back to his youth and beyond to the origins of the city he's sworn to protect. Could the Court of Owls, once thought to be nothing more than an urban legend, be behind the crime & corruption? Or is Bruce Wayne losing his grip on sanity and falling prey to the pressures of his war on crime?

'Batman, Volume 1: The Court of Owls' book cover

Earth 2, Volume 3: Battle Cry
James Robinson

The wonders of Earth 2, Green Lantern, Hawkgirl, Flash, Atom Smasher, The Sandman, Mr. Terrific and Dr. Fate, take on the forces of Steppenwolf and the Hunger Dogs of Apokolips when all hope is lost. Now a new Batman enters the fray, but is he enough to turn the tide and prevent Darkseid from taking control of Earth 2?

'Earth 2, Volume 3: Battle Cry' book cover

Forever Evil
Geoff Johns

The Justice League is DEAD! And the villains shall INHERIT the Earth! In a flash of light, the world's most powerful heroes vanish as the Crime Syndicate arrives from Earth-3! As this evil version of the Justice League takes over the DC Universe, no one stands in the way of them and complete domination...no one except for Lex Luthor.

'Forever Evil' book cover

Deadpool, Volume 1: Dead Presidents
Brian Posehn

Dead former United States presidents, from George Washington to Gerald Ford, have been resurrected--and that's bad. The Marvel heroes can't be the ones to stop them...someone is needed with the reputation, skills and plausible deniability to take out these com-monsters in chiefs. Deadpool time is NOW!

'Deadpool, Volume 1: Dead Presidents' book cover

Loki: Agent of Asgard, Volume 2: I Cannot Tell a Lie
Al Ewing

AXIS tie-in! Loki faces Doctor Doom! But with Valeria Richards in the mix, who's the hero of this story...and who's the villain? Doom has sentenced Loki to death for the crimes of his future self, King Loki! But with the Red Skull drowning Latveria and the entire world in a wave of telepathic hate, will there even be a future left to save? And when the events of AXIS invert Loki, he begins a noble quest for truth, justice and the Asgardian way...which pits him against the Enchantress, Lorelei...and the brutish Thor, god of evil?!

'Loki: Agent of Asgard, Volume 2: I Cannot Tell a Lie' book cover

The Walking Dead
Robert Kirkman

What if you awoke from a coma to find the world overrun by zombies? That is exactly what happens to Officer Rick Grimes when he wakes up after being shot. Can he and a ragtag group of survivors rebuild after this disaster?

'The Walking Dead' book cover

Rocket Girl, Volume 1: Times Squared
Brandon Montclare

A teenage cop from a high-tech future is sent back in time to 1986 New York City. Dayoung Johansson is investigating the Quintum Mechanics megacorporation for crimes against time. As she pieces together the clues, she discovers the "future" she calls home - an alternate reality version of 2014 - shouldn't exist at all!

'Rocket Girl, Volume 1: Times Squared' book cover